Demonstrating Lego WeDo

At the end of my Master Teacher in computing training with Computers At School, an email from CAS came round asking for volunteers to demonstrate computing lessons for the DfE. I volunteered and was rather surprised when the week before the end of our school year I was contacted by the DfE to book a time to film a video for their YouTube channel. 

The film maker, Lee, was camera man, sound engineer and editor all in one, which made the process easier for me and the children. As it was he day before the end of the school year, I chose 10 children from my class to take part in a Lego WeDo lesson. Lee had sent me some questions in advance for a piece to camera and I’d explained how the lesson would work. 

The lesson was from Phil Bagge’s plans for making a toilet fan. I started the children off by explaining the task and they made their models in pairs before Lee arrived. The children were great and really enjoyed making their fans and couldn’t wait to get started controlling them using scratch. Once Lee arrived, we continued with the lesson and they soon forgot their nerves at being filmed as they were completely absorbed in their programming!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=HvopGuX3_SI

1 thought on “Demonstrating Lego WeDo”

Leave a Reply

