Blogging, tweeting and being a #PGCE student

This post forms part of a blogging carnival organised by Danny Nicholson. I haven’t taken part in a blog carnival, but I really liked the idea (and seems a good way to thank Danny for the inspiration I get from his whiteboard blog).

I am a primary PGCE student. Before I started my transformation into a teacher, I worked in educational technology, particularly the field of plagiarism detection. I started blogging for my EdTech work and due to the reflective nature of teacher training seemed natural to carry on. I had thought I would put my weekly course reflections here, but in fact I’ve discovered that much of my reflection as a trainee feels distinctly personal and so I’ve been selective in what I have shared publicly. My experiences as a learner (see the perils of electronic note taking as an example) have had quite an effect on me. The course has made me consider the nature of learning and how uncomfortable it can be to recognise that you don’t understand something.

My personal learning network is massively important to the way I learn. The people I follow provide support, inspiration, encouragement and challenge me to reflect on my learning. Serendipitous discovery through twitter is an amazing way to find out things you didn’t know you needed to know (like this fabulous list of blog post prompts for teachers from Alec Couros @courosa). My PLN give me feedback on my understanding and interpretation of everything from teaching theorists to assessment for learning. I have shared reliance on twitter with my fellow students.  I am organising a TeachMeet  with Josie Fraser, which I never would have dreamt was possible whilst I was still a PGCE student.


I’ve been thinking about using different online tools with children in my next teaching placement. One idea is a to use! as way of curating sources of information and posing questions for children to hunt for the answers from the links. I’ve started with some ideas for the Terrible Tudors, I’d love to hear how other people are using! in the classroom.

3 thoughts on “Blogging, tweeting and being a #PGCE student”

  1. I’ve just found your blog, I’m starting PGCE in Sept. and it’s great to read someone a little further down the road. Keep it up. looks like a fantastic tool, thanks for sharing this. I’m teaching ICT twice a week for an independent school (unqualified, and scary!) and I’m often coming up against a problem with balance… on one hand I want to free up the kids to find what they need, using the internet sensibly to get information, and being a little prescriptive and structured so they don’t go all over the place and head to some weird, wonderful and inappropriate sites — a lot of the time they just get **really** distracted. looks like a great way for me to strike this balance, plan ahead, find a series of sites and resources that are relevant as staring off points, rather than letting them loose on Google.

    Thanks for the inspiration… signing up to now.

Leave a Reply

