Do you suffer from Headaches/Migrane? Are you a biologist? Could you help a good friend of mine? read on:

I did my PhD with Emma Dagless and we’ve remained friends ever since. Emma has suffered from headaches and migraines for years and yet has achieved some amazing things (think driving across Africa in an ex-truck) and doesn’t let anything get in her way. She is now researching and writing a book about how to live with migraines, and coping strategies for dealing with the symptoms. She is looking for a biologist who suffers from migraines to help her as a case study for the book – I’ll let her explain:

For the past couple of years I have wanted to write a book on living well and achieving things despite having headaches/migraines. It is estimated that up to 10 million people in the UK have regular headaches or migraines. As well as the obvious scientific/medical stuff there are loads of books on symptoms, treatments etc. Then there are a handful of others – mainly published in USA on migraine art, history and other related things  – with the main appeal being to someone like me who is researching the topic. 

I know from blogs etc. people love sharing their symptoms / experiences. But this is all a bit woe is me, with the symptoms put first rather than learning to live with them. I want to write about people who have managed to get where there want in life (or at least close) despite having headaches /migraines. I am looking at my own experiences in travel, but am running out of material so desperately need some other people to interview and build chapters around.

 Last week I had a bit of a brainwave as Charles Darwin had bad migraines (well bad health in general really!). So I am now looking for a biologist who has succeeded as far as lecturing/ running own research group and has regular headaches /migraines (or has had episodes of headache/migraine). The real icing on the cake would be if this person also happened to know a bit about Darwin as a person as well as a scientist – although I am now reading up on him myself. This is a chance to portray both people with headaches and scientist as ‘normal’ so I want someone like ourselves !’

Do you fit the bill and are willing to spend some time being interviewed by Emma? Failing that, do you know someone that could help?

A second request from me to help her along – anyone with any tips on self-publishing (digitally) would also be appreciated.

 

 

Leave a Reply

