Why I’m going to TeachMeet Midlands #tmm11

I work at Leicester University promoting the use of eLearning to academic staff and students in the School of Biological Sciences, most of my research has been in the area of plagiarism and it’s electronic detection, so why am I going to TeachMeet Midlands this weekend?

Most of the people that read this blog will already know why, it’s because I’ve finally had my place on the Upper Primary PGCE course at Leicester University confirmed and I’ll be starting a new life as a trainee teacher in September. I’ve been using twitter since late 2007 and it has long been an invaluable tool. It provides access to a wealth of experience, knowledge and wisdom from a network of enthusiastic, passionate people that stimulate and challenge me every day. I can’t imagine being a teacher without it, so I’m starting as I mean to go on and taking the opportunity to build my teaching twitter network as soon as I can. I’ll definitely need all the support and encouragement I can get, I’ve lots of skills to bring to teaching, but I’ve even more skills to learn and put into practice. I would love to hear if you have a teacher you follow that particularly inspires you, let me know in the comments,  or via a tweet @jobadge.

I’m also coming to try and pick up some practical tips from real practitioners and start to think about what sort of teacher I would like to be. Why did you decide to come to TeachMeet Midlands?

4 thoughts on “Why I’m going to TeachMeet Midlands #tmm11”

  1. Really looking forward to seeing you there Jo and doubt it will be long before you are sharing your own experiences and tips at a TM. I know you will pick up brilliant tips from great teachers – I go to be inspired, to talk to innovative practitioners and always leave with an amazing buzz. See you there!

Leave a Reply

