poor little eeepc

I’m just back from a conference in Newcastle where I took my little eeepc for note taking. Unlike the OUeepc event, where everyone had a machine of some sorts, there were only a few laptops in evidence. Plenty of macs, even an air, and a couple of other people with eeepc’s. however, the main problem was juice. There was only one socket in the lecture theatres, and not a single one available in the lobby/restaurant/entire ground floor (believe me I looked everywhere!). What’s more, I really missed having mobile broadband. The free wifi was almost impossible to log in to (very secure!) and I only got on once and then it locked me out for the rest of the session!

One thought on “poor little eeepc”

  1. Sad to say, I’ve had similar negative experiences with conference wifi elsewhere. My solution is to find a cafe or pub with “free” wifi. At least the last time when I twittered about the problem at a commercial venue, I got a response within hours!

Leave a Reply

